Idk, My BFF Food?

Posted on Updated on

A few days ago, I posted this video.

TRUTH:

Food wasn’t always my friend.

I used to beat myself up if I strayed from my diet.

One pretzel could bring down all of my progress in a single crunch.

My mood: DEPRESSED

My diet: SHOT

Why was I so weak?

Where was my willpower?

How can I ever come back from this mistake?

 

WHOA. If you are resonating with this topic right now I want you to take a deep breath.

 

In…

and out….

 

Shaming yourself for your food choices doesn’t make you feel good and it certainly doesn’t help you lose weight.

 

It’s mentally taxing to and physically exhausting to obsess over food. Your body becomes stressed when you feel guilt or shame.

 

Stress leads to a plethora of physical problems, such as:

Low energy

Aches and pains

Digestive upset

Headaches

Loss of sexual desire (!!!!!)

Lowered immune system

Weight gain

This is because when the body feels stress in any form, it shuts down and activates fight or flight mode. This can raise cortisol levels, the stress hormone released by the adrenals, which floods the body with glucose (energy)that allows the body to be ready for ACTION (face the beast or run for your life) 

If the body is constantly feeling stress in the form of guilt, shame, worry, or every day stressors and these perceived “threats” never goes away, the body can become physically and mentally exhausted while bodily functions become disrupted.

My advice?

Take a breath and remember these truths:

Another day will come, and with that day comes another chance to enhance your well being with a better food choice.

 

That one bowl of gluten or slice of sugar pie won’t make you less of a person.

 

The act of eating should be a pleasurable one. Savor the flavor, inhale the magnificent aromas and be reminded of the divine miracle it took for this food to be in front of you.

 

Food is fuel. It is a necessity to live a vibrant, energetic life. Your tank might require premium while your friends’ function on regular. Learn what fuel makes YOU feel good inside and out and repeat QD prn. (every day as needed)

You are enough. You are worthy.   You are beautiful now in this moment.


Now I want to hear from you!

Have you felt guilt or shame over a food choice you made?

How do you view food now? 

Tell me more in the comment section or email me at Sam@NourishingNomswithSam.com to chat.

One thought on “Idk, My BFF Food?

    dasophstah said:
    May 15, 2015 at 11:08 am

    Your blog is incredible! I love your point of view and way of writing about a topic that is so emotionally charged.

    Like

Leave a Reply

