Chocolate Avocado Truffles

Video Posted on Updated on

Christmas snuck up on me this year and I haven’t made a single Christmas cookie.

Crazy, right?

Actually, I haven’t felt like baking cookies this year but I’ve got an abundance of avocados ripening on my counter so I thought I’d share my favorite healthy truffle recipe with you!

You can tailor this recipe to your needs. I chose to use Lily’s brand dark chocolate chips, which are sweetened with stevia, for this recipe. I also love to use unsweetened chocolate and sweeten with whatever tickles my fancy that day.

The flavor possibilities with this recipe are endless! I made chocolate orange and peppermint truffles, but you can make mexican chocolate, raspberry, coconut, etc.

Annnnnd for an added bonus, I’ve included the link to the video I made of me MAKING THESE TRUFFLES. Enjoy!

 

Chocolate Avocado Truffles

By Samantha Rispoli

THEingredients

3/4 cup dark chocolate chips (or 6 oz unsweetened chocolate)

1 ripe organic avocado

IMG_41711/4 tsp pink himalayan salt

2 Tbsp fresh orange juice

1 Tbsp orange zest

(1 tsp liquid stevia, 1/4 cup coconut sugar, or what ever sweetener you choose to use if working with unsweetened chocolate)

cocoa or cacao powder, shredded coconut, cacao nibs, chopped goji berries, chopped nuts for coating the truffles

THEoptions

Replace orange juice and zest with:

Mint Chocolate- 2 tsp peppermint extract

Cinnamon- 1 tsp vanilla extract, 1 tsp cinnamon

Raspberry Chocolate- roll batter around a frozen raspberry

Mexican Chocolate- 1 tsp cinnamon 1 tsp chili powder

THEdirections

Begin by melting chocolate in a double boiler. If using unsweetened chocolate, add sweetener in at this time.

Mash avocado with a mixer until smooth. Pour melted chocolate in and mix until there is no more green and “batter” is smooth.

Add your flavors and salt!

Transfer batter mixture to a bowl and place it in the refrigerator  for 20-30 minutes until firm.

When batter is firm, take spoonfuls and roll into smooth balls. Roll truffle balls into preferred coatings and return to the fridge until you are ready to blow your friends and family away with these decadent truffles!

 

I hope you have a fabulous holiday!

 

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Avocado Truffles

    neem said:
    December 23, 2014 at 1:19 am

    #prettymuch

    Like

    Gina Marie said:
    March 27, 2015 at 6:21 pm

    So as I sit here, taking a mental health day from the 21 small people I spend my workday with, I find myself so excited to make these! I’m going to do some coconut, and some with mint extract (inspired by your thin mints!). Let you know how it turns out!!

    Liked by 1 person

      rispolisg responded:
      April 4, 2015 at 9:37 pm

      OMG YES so yummmmmmm! I LoOoOve chocolate and mint!

      Like

Leave a Reply

